Programs & Assistance · Contra Costa County
Concord First-Time Homebuyer Programs
Concord's First Time Homebuyer (FTHB) Program is a real, currently-open second-mortgage loan — up to $60,000 toward down payment or closing costs, with no interest and no monthly payments while you own the home.
Last checked: Sep 4, 2026
At a glance
What we could verify today
City program
Open — Now Accepting Applications
County
Contra Costa County
Best current action
Apply through Bay Area Affordable Homeownership Alliance (BAAHA)
Does this apply to your city right now?
Treat the city status as the starting point, then check county and California programs in parallel. Many buyers search for a city program first, but the usable answer may be a county fund, a CalHFA-approved lender path, a periodic below-market opening, or a closed program worth monitoring rather than an always-open city grant.
Track A
Income-Restricted Programs
City-administered programs for low- and moderate-income first-time buyers in Concord.
How repayment actually works
Concord First Time Homebuyer (FTHB) Program
City of Concord (administered by Bay Area Affordable Homeownership Alliance / BAAHA)
Official city page states "Now Accepting Applications!" as of verification.
A deferred second-mortgage loan of up to $60,000 to help qualified low- to moderate-income first-time buyers with down payment and/or closing costs. No interest charged and no monthly payments — the loan is repaid in full within 15 years, at which point the City also receives a share of the home's increased value.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation deferred loan (0% interest, no monthly payment, due in full at 15 years along with a share of appreciation)
- Potential amount
- Up to $60,000, second-mortgage down payment/closing-cost loan
- Income / AMI limit
- Eligibility is based on 150% of Area Median Income for the household size; exact dollar figures by household size are not stated on the program overview page.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Depends on household size
Eligibility is capped at 150% AMI — a meaningfully higher ceiling than most Bay Area DPA programs (typically 80–120% AMI), so a ~$190K household income may be within range depending on household size and Contra Costa County's official 150% AMI table, which was not independently re-confirmed this pass.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Track B
Programs worth checking at higher Bay Area incomes
A ~$190K Bay Area household income is a research scenario, not a universal eligibility threshold — these are the programs (city, county, or state) whose published limits are worth investigating for that scenario.
CalHFA MyHome Assistance Program
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
This is a standing, non-lottery assistance program tied to CalHFA first mortgages — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator the way lottery-based programs do. The mechanics below were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A deferred-payment junior loan of up to 3.5% of the purchase price or appraised value (whichever is less) for government loans (FHA), or up to 3% for conventional loans, paired with a CalHFA first mortgage. No monthly payments — repaid when the home is sold, refinanced, or the first mortgage is paid off.
- Assistance type
- Deferred-payment junior loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 3.5% of purchase price/appraised value (FHA) or up to 3% (conventional) — deferred loan
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size, unlike typical AMI tables) — see the official income limits page/PDF. For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026, grouped with other 'high-cost county' limits (Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo). Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program)
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
Like MyHome, this is a standing, non-lottery program tied to a specific CalHFA first mortgage (CalPLUS) — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator. Mechanics were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A zero-interest second loan equal to 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount, usable only for closing costs — not down payment or debt payoff. No payments while owned; deferred for the life of the CalPLUS first mortgage.
- Assistance type
- Zero-interest deferred loan (closing costs only)
- Potential amount
- 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount — zero-interest, closing costs only
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size). For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026 — CalPLUS ZIP shares CalHFA's standard income-limit table with MyHome. Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Not stated
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Concord First Time Homebuyer (FTHB) Program
City of Concord (administered by Bay Area Affordable Homeownership Alliance / BAAHA)
Official city page states "Now Accepting Applications!" as of verification.
A deferred second-mortgage loan of up to $60,000 to help qualified low- to moderate-income first-time buyers with down payment and/or closing costs. No interest charged and no monthly payments — the loan is repaid in full within 15 years, at which point the City also receives a share of the home's increased value.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation deferred loan (0% interest, no monthly payment, due in full at 15 years along with a share of appreciation)
- Potential amount
- Up to $60,000, second-mortgage down payment/closing-cost loan
- Income / AMI limit
- Eligibility is based on 150% of Area Median Income for the household size; exact dollar figures by household size are not stated on the program overview page.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Depends on household size
Eligibility is capped at 150% AMI — a meaningfully higher ceiling than most Bay Area DPA programs (typically 80–120% AMI), so a ~$190K household income may be within range depending on household size and Contra Costa County's official 150% AMI table, which was not independently re-confirmed this pass.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Research aid, not a calculator
Household income around $190K?
For every program we could research, here's the current signal — never an eligibility determination.
| Program | ~$190K research signal | Why |
|---|---|---|
| CalHFA MyHome Assistance Program | Potentially relevant | For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only. |
| California Dream For All Shared Appreciation Loan | Needs verification | CalHFA does not publish a specific dollar income limit on this page — only that county income limits apply — and the program shows no open 2026 round to check against currently. |
| CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program) | Potentially relevant | For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only. |
| Concord First Time Homebuyer (FTHB) Program | Depends on household size | Eligibility is capped at 150% AMI — a meaningfully higher ceiling than most Bay Area DPA programs (typically 80–120% AMI), so a ~$190K household income may be within range depending on household size and Contra Costa County's official 150% AMI table, which was not independently re-confirmed this pass. |
| Contra Costa County Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) Program | Likely above income limit | Even the highest published income limit (target-area, largest household size, $146,160) is well below a ~$190K household income — and the program is currently closed to new applicants regardless. |
| GSFA Golden Opportunities Program | No explicit income limit found | No income limit is stated on the official Golden Opportunities page — eligibility is driven by the underlying FHA/VA/USDA/Conventional loan program's own limits, not a GSFA-specific income cap. |
| GSFA Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) Program | Needs verification | No income limit figure is stated on the official page, and the program shows no funds currently available to check eligibility against. |
| GSFA Platinum | Needs verification | GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county but not the specific dollar figures on this page — cannot classify a ~$190K scenario without the county-specific number. |
| WISH (Workforce Initiative Subsidy for Homeownership) | Likely above income limit | Capped at 80% of HUD AMI. Even the highest 80% AMI figure in this table's own household-size range (Alameda County, 6-person household) is $157,500 — a ~$190K household income exceeds the 80% AMI ceiling at every household size. |
Checked but not confirmed this pass (1)
- Exact appreciation-share formula and repayment triggers: The program overview confirms a 15-year deferred loan with a share of appreciation due at maturity, but the precise formula, and whether sale/refinance also trigger repayment earlier, aren't detailed on the public overview page — confirm directly with BAAHA.
Beyond the city
County / Regional options
Contra Costa County programs that apply to buyers purchasing in Concord.
Contra Costa County Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) Program
Contra Costa County Department of Conservation and Development
Official page states there are currently no funds for this program and it is not accepting applications.
A federal Mortgage Credit Certificate providing an annual tax credit equal to 20% of mortgage interest paid, for first-time buyers purchasing a new or existing single-family home anywhere in Contra Costa County, including its cities.
- Assistance type
- Tax credit (Mortgage Credit Certificate)
- Potential amount
- Annual federal tax credit equal to 20% of mortgage interest paid (not a cash payment)
- Income / AMI limit
- Non-target areas: $104,400–$120,060 depending on household size. Target areas: $125,280–$146,160 depending on household size.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Likely above income limit
Even the highest published income limit (target-area, largest household size, $146,160) is well below a ~$190K household income — and the program is currently closed to new applicants regardless.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Statewide
California options
State programs any eligible California first-time buyer can research, regardless of city.
CalHFA MyHome Assistance Program
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
This is a standing, non-lottery assistance program tied to CalHFA first mortgages — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator the way lottery-based programs do. The mechanics below were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A deferred-payment junior loan of up to 3.5% of the purchase price or appraised value (whichever is less) for government loans (FHA), or up to 3% for conventional loans, paired with a CalHFA first mortgage. No monthly payments — repaid when the home is sold, refinanced, or the first mortgage is paid off.
- Assistance type
- Deferred-payment junior loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 3.5% of purchase price/appraised value (FHA) or up to 3% (conventional) — deferred loan
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size, unlike typical AMI tables) — see the official income limits page/PDF. For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026, grouped with other 'high-cost county' limits (Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo). Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
California Dream For All Shared Appreciation Loan
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
The 2026 registration period for a down payment loan voucher closed March 16, 2026; vouchers from the randomized drawing were released May 20, 2026 to selected applicants (categorized Not Selected / Waitlist / Voucher Issued). No new registration round shown on the official page as of verification — monitor the official page for the next round.
Offers up to 20% of the purchase price for down payment or closing costs (not to exceed $150,000), as a shared-appreciation loan alongside a CalHFA first mortgage. At repayment, the borrower repays the original loan plus a share of the home's appreciation — 20% of appreciation for moderate-income borrowers, or a reduced 15% share (using a 0.75:1 formula) for borrowers at or below 80% AMI.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 20% of purchase price, not to exceed $150,000 — shared-appreciation loan
- Income / AMI limit
- Combined household income must meet CalHFA's published income limits for the county of purchase — the program page does not state the specific figures.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
CalHFA does not publish a specific dollar income limit on this page — only that county income limits apply — and the program shows no open 2026 round to check against currently.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program)
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
Like MyHome, this is a standing, non-lottery program tied to a specific CalHFA first mortgage (CalPLUS) — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator. Mechanics were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A zero-interest second loan equal to 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount, usable only for closing costs — not down payment or debt payoff. No payments while owned; deferred for the life of the CalPLUS first mortgage.
- Assistance type
- Zero-interest deferred loan (closing costs only)
- Potential amount
- 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount — zero-interest, closing costs only
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size). For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026 — CalPLUS ZIP shares CalHFA's standard income-limit table with MyHome. Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Not stated
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
GSFA Golden Opportunities Program
Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)
Official page presents the program as currently active, with application instructions and no suspension/closure notice.
Up to 5% of the first mortgage amount toward down payment and closing costs, for buyers using FHA, VA, USDA, or Conventional financing. Structured as a 3.5% second mortgage (15-year amortizing, monthly payments) plus up to 1.5% in non-repayable gift funds.
- Assistance type
- Amortizing second mortgage + gift funds
- Potential amount
- Up to 5% of first mortgage amount (3.5% amortizing second mortgage + up to 1.5% non-repayable gift)
- Income / AMI limit
- Not stated on the official page fetched this pass.
- First-time buyer required
- No
- ~$190K research signal
- No explicit income limit found
No income limit is stated on the official Golden Opportunities page — eligibility is driven by the underlying FHA/VA/USDA/Conventional loan program's own limits, not a GSFA-specific income cap.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
GSFA Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) Program
Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)
The official page states "All Program funds are currently allocated," updated January 1, 2025 — not accepting new applications as of verification.
Not a direct-assistance loan or grant — a federal tax credit equal to 20% of annual mortgage interest paid, claimable for the life of the loan while the home remains the borrower's primary residence. The remaining 80% of mortgage interest is still separately deductible.
- Assistance type
- Tax credit
- Potential amount
- 20% of annual mortgage interest paid, as a federal tax credit — not a lump sum
- Income / AMI limit
- Not stated on the official page.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
No income limit figure is stated on the official page, and the program shows no funds currently available to check eligibility against.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
GSFA Platinum
Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)
Promotion explicitly stated as extended through August 2026 on the official page.
Combination down payment/closing-cost assistance of up to 5.5% of the loan amount, structured as a repayable second mortgage and/or gift funds depending on the option selected (e.g. GSFA Platinum Select offers up to 3.5% as a repayable second plus up to 1.5% as gift funds).
- Assistance type
- Repayable second mortgage and/or gift funds (varies by option)
- Potential amount
- Up to 5.5% combined (e.g. up to 3.5% repayable second + up to 1.5% gift funds under Platinum Select)
- Income / AMI limit
- GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county for conventional loans — the program page does not state the specific dollar figures.
- First-time buyer required
- No
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county but not the specific dollar figures on this page — cannot classify a ~$190K scenario without the county-specific number.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
WISH (Workforce Initiative Subsidy for Homeownership)
Federal Home Loan Bank of San Francisco (disbursed through participating member financial institutions)
2026 program cycle is funded at $13 million; member institutions can submit participation requests through the Community Investment Portal through 2027-03-12 — confirm the exact current window with a participating lender, as FHLBank cycle dates can shift.
A 4-to-1 matching grant for lower-income first-time homebuyers: a household that contributes its own funds can receive a matching grant up to $32,837 (amount set by the Federal Housing Finance Agency). Grant is secured by a second deed of trust that amortizes over a retention period and is forgiven if the buyer maintains owner-occupancy through it.
- Assistance type
- Forgivable matching grant (second deed of trust)
- Potential amount
- Up to $32,837, as a 4:1 match of the buyer's own contribution
- Income / AMI limit
- Tied to 80% of HUD AMI for the applicable area/household size — not a single statewide dollar figure; varies by county and household size.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Likely above income limit
Capped at 80% of HUD AMI. Even the highest 80% AMI figure in this table's own household-size range (Alameda County, 6-person household) is $157,500 — a ~$190K household income exceeds the 80% AMI ceiling at every household size.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Next steps
What to do next
- 01
Confirm your household fits the 150% AMI limit
Concord's 150% AMI ceiling is notably higher than most Bay Area city DPA programs (often 80–120% AMI) — worth checking even if you assumed you'd be over the limit for a city program.
- 02
Line up a HUD-approved homebuyer education course
Completing this before you apply means you're not scrambling once you have an accepted offer — it's a required step before closing.
- 03
Check your FICO score against the 640 minimum
The program requires a minimum 640 credit score and at least 3% of the purchase price contributed from your own funds.
- 04
Apply through BAAHA
Bay Area Affordable Homeownership Alliance administers the program for the City — start at myhomegateway.org.
Connect to True Cost
Found a program you may qualify for?
Calculate the home's actual monthly cost and cash needs first, then verify with the program administrator how assistance affects your financing.
Calculate True CostThis page is a research aid, not a guarantee of eligibility or funding availability. FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee any government program — always confirm current details directly with the official source before relying on them.
Sources
Provenance for the claims on this page
Government (city)
City of Concord — First Time Homebuyer
Supports: Program status (accepting applications), assistance amount, eligibility requirements, administrator (BAAHA). Accessed Sep 4, 2026.
Government (county)
Contra Costa County — Mortgage Credit Certificate Program
Supports: County-level tax-credit program status and income/purchase-price limits. Accessed Sep 4, 2026.