Programs & Assistance · Alameda County
Fremont First-Time Homebuyer Programs
Fremont doesn't offer cash down payment assistance of its own anymore — that funding ended with California's 2012 dissolution of Redevelopment Agencies. What the city does offer is a below-market-price home purchase opportunity, and it's a different product with different economics.
Last checked: Aug 31, 2026
At a glance
What we could verify today
City program
No BMP homes currently for sale
County
Alameda County
Best current action
Join the Fremont BMP interest list; check AC Boost/CalHFA for cash assistance
Does this apply to your city right now?
Treat the city status as the starting point, then check county and California programs in parallel. Many buyers search for a city program first, but the usable answer may be a county fund, a CalHFA-approved lender path, a periodic below-market opening, or a closed program worth monitoring rather than an always-open city grant.
Track A
Income-Restricted Programs
City-administered programs for low- and moderate-income first-time buyers in Fremont.
Two different things, easy to confuse
Fremont Below Market Price (BMP) Homes Program
City of Fremont Housing Division
The official City of Fremont BMP page states the City currently has no BMP homes for sale; an interest list is open for notification when a home becomes available. This is a below-market-rate home-purchase opportunity, not a cash-assistance loan — the City separately states it no longer has down-payment loan-assistance funds of its own (its prior funds came from Redevelopment Agency financing, dissolved statewide) and refers first-time buyers to CalHFA or Alameda County's AC Boost for cash assistance instead.
An opportunity to purchase a below-market-price home in Fremont under the City's Affordable Housing Ordinance, when a developer sets aside a unit or a current BMP owner resells. This is a purchase-price discount on a specific unit, not a loan or grant — buyers still need their own qualifying mortgage for the (below-market) purchase price.
- Assistance type
- Below-market/affordable ownership opportunity
- Potential amount
- Not a cash loan/grant — a below-market purchase price on a specific unit, set when the unit is built/resold
- Income / AMI limit
- Example published on the official BMP page: a 3-person household must earn at least $112,550 and no more than $172,600/year to qualify. The official page does not publish the full table for other household sizes; income_limit above reflects the 3-person maximum only.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Depends on household size
Only a 3-person household figure is published ($172,600 maximum), which a ~$190K income would exceed. Larger households would have a higher ceiling under a typical AMI-scaled table, but the official page does not publish those figures, so a household-size-specific answer can't be given for households other than 3-person.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Track B
Programs worth checking at higher Bay Area incomes
A ~$190K Bay Area household income is a research scenario, not a universal eligibility threshold — these are the programs (city, county, or state) whose published limits are worth investigating for that scenario.
AC Boost
Alameda County Housing and Community Development Department (managed by Hello Housing)
Pre-application period closed May 15, 2024; a Funding Cycle 3 lottery was held June 5, 2024. The official page shows no newer round as of verification — current status could reflect a paused, fully-subscribed, or between-cycles program; check the official page directly.
A shared-appreciation down payment assistance loan of up to $210,000 for households at or below 100% AMI, or up to $160,000 for households at or below 120% AMI. No payments due during the loan term.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation loan
- Potential amount
- Up to $210,000 (household income ≤100% AMI) or up to $160,000 (≤120% AMI) — shared-appreciation loan
- Income / AMI limit
- Assistance amount scales with income: up to $210,000 at or below 100% AMI, or up to $160,000 at or below 120% AMI. AMI dollar limits are updated annually (typically late spring) and are not listed on the general program page — check the official eligibility checker for current figures.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Depends on household size
Assistance tier depends on being at/below 100% or 120% Alameda County AMI. Alameda County's 2026 120% AMI figure for a 4-person household is approximately $186,850 (per a secondary source citing the county's own AMI table; not independently re-confirmed against the primary table this pass) — a ~$190K income is right at or just above that figure for a 4-person household, and the ratio would differ for other household sizes.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
CalHFA MyHome Assistance Program
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
This is a standing, non-lottery assistance program tied to CalHFA first mortgages — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator the way lottery-based programs do. The mechanics below were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A deferred-payment junior loan of up to 3.5% of the purchase price or appraised value (whichever is less) for government loans (FHA), or up to 3% for conventional loans, paired with a CalHFA first mortgage. No monthly payments — repaid when the home is sold, refinanced, or the first mortgage is paid off.
- Assistance type
- Deferred-payment junior loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 3.5% of purchase price/appraised value (FHA) or up to 3% (conventional) — deferred loan
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size, unlike typical AMI tables) — see the official income limits page/PDF. For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026, grouped with other 'high-cost county' limits (Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo). Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program)
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
Like MyHome, this is a standing, non-lottery program tied to a specific CalHFA first mortgage (CalPLUS) — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator. Mechanics were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A zero-interest second loan equal to 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount, usable only for closing costs — not down payment or debt payoff. No payments while owned; deferred for the life of the CalPLUS first mortgage.
- Assistance type
- Zero-interest deferred loan (closing costs only)
- Potential amount
- 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount — zero-interest, closing costs only
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size). For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026 — CalPLUS ZIP shares CalHFA's standard income-limit table with MyHome. Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Not stated
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Fremont Below Market Price (BMP) Homes Program
City of Fremont Housing Division
The official City of Fremont BMP page states the City currently has no BMP homes for sale; an interest list is open for notification when a home becomes available. This is a below-market-rate home-purchase opportunity, not a cash-assistance loan — the City separately states it no longer has down-payment loan-assistance funds of its own (its prior funds came from Redevelopment Agency financing, dissolved statewide) and refers first-time buyers to CalHFA or Alameda County's AC Boost for cash assistance instead.
An opportunity to purchase a below-market-price home in Fremont under the City's Affordable Housing Ordinance, when a developer sets aside a unit or a current BMP owner resells. This is a purchase-price discount on a specific unit, not a loan or grant — buyers still need their own qualifying mortgage for the (below-market) purchase price.
- Assistance type
- Below-market/affordable ownership opportunity
- Potential amount
- Not a cash loan/grant — a below-market purchase price on a specific unit, set when the unit is built/resold
- Income / AMI limit
- Example published on the official BMP page: a 3-person household must earn at least $112,550 and no more than $172,600/year to qualify. The official page does not publish the full table for other household sizes; income_limit above reflects the 3-person maximum only.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Depends on household size
Only a 3-person household figure is published ($172,600 maximum), which a ~$190K income would exceed. Larger households would have a higher ceiling under a typical AMI-scaled table, but the official page does not publish those figures, so a household-size-specific answer can't be given for households other than 3-person.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Research aid, not a calculator
Household income around $190K?
For every program we could research, here's the current signal — never an eligibility determination.
| Program | ~$190K research signal | Why |
|---|---|---|
| AC Boost | Depends on household size | Assistance tier depends on being at/below 100% or 120% Alameda County AMI. Alameda County's 2026 120% AMI figure for a 4-person household is approximately $186,850 (per a secondary source citing the county's own AMI table; not independently re-confirmed against the primary table this pass) — a ~$190K income is right at or just above that figure for a 4-person household, and the ratio would differ for other household sizes. |
| CalHFA MyHome Assistance Program | Potentially relevant | For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only. |
| California Dream For All Shared Appreciation Loan | Needs verification | CalHFA does not publish a specific dollar income limit on this page — only that county income limits apply — and the program shows no open 2026 round to check against currently. |
| CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program) | Potentially relevant | For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only. |
| Fremont Below Market Price (BMP) Homes Program | Depends on household size | Only a 3-person household figure is published ($172,600 maximum), which a ~$190K income would exceed. Larger households would have a higher ceiling under a typical AMI-scaled table, but the official page does not publish those figures, so a household-size-specific answer can't be given for households other than 3-person. |
| GSFA Golden Opportunities Program | No explicit income limit found | No income limit is stated on the official Golden Opportunities page — eligibility is driven by the underlying FHA/VA/USDA/Conventional loan program's own limits, not a GSFA-specific income cap. |
| GSFA Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) Program | Needs verification | No income limit figure is stated on the official page, and the program shows no funds currently available to check eligibility against. |
| GSFA Platinum | Needs verification | GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county but not the specific dollar figures on this page — cannot classify a ~$190K scenario without the county-specific number. |
| WISH (Workforce Initiative Subsidy for Homeownership) | Likely above income limit | Capped at 80% of HUD AMI. Even the highest 80% AMI figure in this table's own household-size range (Alameda County, 6-person household) is $157,500 — a ~$190K household income exceeds the 80% AMI ceiling at every household size. |
Beyond the city
County / Regional options
Alameda County programs that apply to buyers purchasing in Fremont.
AC Boost
Alameda County Housing and Community Development Department (managed by Hello Housing)
Pre-application period closed May 15, 2024; a Funding Cycle 3 lottery was held June 5, 2024. The official page shows no newer round as of verification — current status could reflect a paused, fully-subscribed, or between-cycles program; check the official page directly.
A shared-appreciation down payment assistance loan of up to $210,000 for households at or below 100% AMI, or up to $160,000 for households at or below 120% AMI. No payments due during the loan term.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation loan
- Potential amount
- Up to $210,000 (household income ≤100% AMI) or up to $160,000 (≤120% AMI) — shared-appreciation loan
- Income / AMI limit
- Assistance amount scales with income: up to $210,000 at or below 100% AMI, or up to $160,000 at or below 120% AMI. AMI dollar limits are updated annually (typically late spring) and are not listed on the general program page — check the official eligibility checker for current figures.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Depends on household size
Assistance tier depends on being at/below 100% or 120% Alameda County AMI. Alameda County's 2026 120% AMI figure for a 4-person household is approximately $186,850 (per a secondary source citing the county's own AMI table; not independently re-confirmed against the primary table this pass) — a ~$190K income is right at or just above that figure for a 4-person household, and the ratio would differ for other household sizes.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Statewide
California options
State programs any eligible California first-time buyer can research, regardless of city.
CalHFA MyHome Assistance Program
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
This is a standing, non-lottery assistance program tied to CalHFA first mortgages — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator the way lottery-based programs do. The mechanics below were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A deferred-payment junior loan of up to 3.5% of the purchase price or appraised value (whichever is less) for government loans (FHA), or up to 3% for conventional loans, paired with a CalHFA first mortgage. No monthly payments — repaid when the home is sold, refinanced, or the first mortgage is paid off.
- Assistance type
- Deferred-payment junior loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 3.5% of purchase price/appraised value (FHA) or up to 3% (conventional) — deferred loan
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size, unlike typical AMI tables) — see the official income limits page/PDF. For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026, grouped with other 'high-cost county' limits (Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo). Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
California Dream For All Shared Appreciation Loan
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
The 2026 registration period for a down payment loan voucher closed March 16, 2026; vouchers from the randomized drawing were released May 20, 2026 to selected applicants (categorized Not Selected / Waitlist / Voucher Issued). No new registration round shown on the official page as of verification — monitor the official page for the next round.
Offers up to 20% of the purchase price for down payment or closing costs (not to exceed $150,000), as a shared-appreciation loan alongside a CalHFA first mortgage. At repayment, the borrower repays the original loan plus a share of the home's appreciation — 20% of appreciation for moderate-income borrowers, or a reduced 15% share (using a 0.75:1 formula) for borrowers at or below 80% AMI.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 20% of purchase price, not to exceed $150,000 — shared-appreciation loan
- Income / AMI limit
- Combined household income must meet CalHFA's published income limits for the county of purchase — the program page does not state the specific figures.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
CalHFA does not publish a specific dollar income limit on this page — only that county income limits apply — and the program shows no open 2026 round to check against currently.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program)
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
Like MyHome, this is a standing, non-lottery program tied to a specific CalHFA first mortgage (CalPLUS) — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator. Mechanics were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A zero-interest second loan equal to 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount, usable only for closing costs — not down payment or debt payoff. No payments while owned; deferred for the life of the CalPLUS first mortgage.
- Assistance type
- Zero-interest deferred loan (closing costs only)
- Potential amount
- 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount — zero-interest, closing costs only
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size). For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026 — CalPLUS ZIP shares CalHFA's standard income-limit table with MyHome. Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Not stated
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
GSFA Golden Opportunities Program
Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)
Official page presents the program as currently active, with application instructions and no suspension/closure notice.
Up to 5% of the first mortgage amount toward down payment and closing costs, for buyers using FHA, VA, USDA, or Conventional financing. Structured as a 3.5% second mortgage (15-year amortizing, monthly payments) plus up to 1.5% in non-repayable gift funds.
- Assistance type
- Amortizing second mortgage + gift funds
- Potential amount
- Up to 5% of first mortgage amount (3.5% amortizing second mortgage + up to 1.5% non-repayable gift)
- Income / AMI limit
- Not stated on the official page fetched this pass.
- First-time buyer required
- No
- ~$190K research signal
- No explicit income limit found
No income limit is stated on the official Golden Opportunities page — eligibility is driven by the underlying FHA/VA/USDA/Conventional loan program's own limits, not a GSFA-specific income cap.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
GSFA Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) Program
Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)
The official page states "All Program funds are currently allocated," updated January 1, 2025 — not accepting new applications as of verification.
Not a direct-assistance loan or grant — a federal tax credit equal to 20% of annual mortgage interest paid, claimable for the life of the loan while the home remains the borrower's primary residence. The remaining 80% of mortgage interest is still separately deductible.
- Assistance type
- Tax credit
- Potential amount
- 20% of annual mortgage interest paid, as a federal tax credit — not a lump sum
- Income / AMI limit
- Not stated on the official page.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
No income limit figure is stated on the official page, and the program shows no funds currently available to check eligibility against.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
GSFA Platinum
Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)
Promotion explicitly stated as extended through August 2026 on the official page.
Combination down payment/closing-cost assistance of up to 5.5% of the loan amount, structured as a repayable second mortgage and/or gift funds depending on the option selected (e.g. GSFA Platinum Select offers up to 3.5% as a repayable second plus up to 1.5% as gift funds).
- Assistance type
- Repayable second mortgage and/or gift funds (varies by option)
- Potential amount
- Up to 5.5% combined (e.g. up to 3.5% repayable second + up to 1.5% gift funds under Platinum Select)
- Income / AMI limit
- GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county for conventional loans — the program page does not state the specific dollar figures.
- First-time buyer required
- No
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county but not the specific dollar figures on this page — cannot classify a ~$190K scenario without the county-specific number.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
WISH (Workforce Initiative Subsidy for Homeownership)
Federal Home Loan Bank of San Francisco (disbursed through participating member financial institutions)
2026 program cycle is funded at $13 million; member institutions can submit participation requests through the Community Investment Portal through 2027-03-12 — confirm the exact current window with a participating lender, as FHLBank cycle dates can shift.
A 4-to-1 matching grant for lower-income first-time homebuyers: a household that contributes its own funds can receive a matching grant up to $32,837 (amount set by the Federal Housing Finance Agency). Grant is secured by a second deed of trust that amortizes over a retention period and is forgiven if the buyer maintains owner-occupancy through it.
- Assistance type
- Forgivable matching grant (second deed of trust)
- Potential amount
- Up to $32,837, as a 4:1 match of the buyer's own contribution
- Income / AMI limit
- Tied to 80% of HUD AMI for the applicable area/household size — not a single statewide dollar figure; varies by county and household size.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Likely above income limit
Capped at 80% of HUD AMI. Even the highest 80% AMI figure in this table's own household-size range (Alameda County, 6-person household) is $157,500 — a ~$190K household income exceeds the 80% AMI ceiling at every household size.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Next steps
What to do next
- 01
Join the BMP interest list
No BMP homes are currently listed for sale in Fremont. The interest list is how the city notifies buyers when a developer sets one aside or a current BMP owner resells.
- 02
Look at AC Boost and CalHFA for actual cash assistance
Since Fremont no longer funds its own down-payment loans, Alameda County's AC Boost (currently between funding cycles) and CalHFA's state programs are the real cash-assistance options for a Fremont buyer.
- 03
Confirm your household fits the BMP income band
BMP eligibility has both a minimum income (to qualify for a mortgage at the below-market price) and a maximum (the program ceiling) — a 3-person household example published by the city is $112,550–$172,600/year.
Connect to True Cost
Found a program you may qualify for?
Calculate the home's actual monthly cost and cash needs first, then verify with the program administrator how assistance affects your financing.
Calculate True CostThis page is a research aid, not a guarantee of eligibility or funding availability. FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee any government program — always confirm current details directly with the official source before relying on them.
Sources
Provenance for the claims on this page
Government (city)
City of Fremont — Below Market Price (BMP) Homes
Supports: BMP program structure, current no-inventory status, income example. Accessed Aug 31, 2026.
Government (city)
City of Fremont — First Time Homebuyer Program overview
Supports: Confirms the city no longer funds direct down-payment loans, refers to AC Boost/CalHFA. Accessed Aug 31, 2026.
Government (county)
Supports: County-level down payment assistance alternative. Accessed Aug 31, 2026.