Programs & Assistance · Santa Clara County
Milpitas First-Time Homebuyer Programs
Milpitas requires deed-restricted Below Market Rate (BMR) homes in new developments — limited to 1-, 2-, or 3-bedroom units — administered on the city's behalf by HouseKeys. What the official page doesn't say is just as important as what it does.
Last checked: Sep 4, 2026
At a glance
What we could verify today
City program
Unclear — official page doesn't state current availability
County
Santa Clara County
Best current action
Register with HouseKeys for notifications; check Santa Clara County's Home Access Program
Does this apply to your city right now?
Treat the city status as the starting point, then check county and California programs in parallel. Many buyers search for a city program first, but the usable answer may be a county fund, a CalHFA-approved lender path, a periodic below-market opening, or a closed program worth monitoring rather than an always-open city grant.
Track A
Income-Restricted Programs
City-administered programs for low- and moderate-income first-time buyers in Milpitas.
What the official page doesn't state
Milpitas Below Market Rate (BMR) Homeownership Program
City of Milpitas Office of Housing (administered by HouseKeys)
The official city page does not state whether units are currently available, closed, or on a waitlist — it only describes how to sign up for notifications via HouseKeys. Availability depends on which BMR-restricted developments currently have units for sale.
Deed-restricted below-market-rate ownership units in Milpitas, limited to 1-, 2-, or 3-bedroom homes, administered on the City's behalf by HouseKeys. Buyers purchase a specific restricted unit rather than receiving cash assistance.
- Assistance type
- Deed-restricted below-market-rate purchase
- Potential amount
- Restricted purchase price on a deed-restricted unit, not a cash loan or grant — savings vary by development and unit
- Income / AMI limit
- Not stated on the official city page. Income limits are likely unit/development-specific, following the same pattern already documented for Hayward's and Fremont's BMR programs, but this has not been independently confirmed for Milpitas.
- First-time buyer required
- Not stated
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
No income limit is published on the official program page — cannot classify a ~$190K household against this program without unit-specific figures.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Track B
Programs worth checking at higher Bay Area incomes
A ~$190K Bay Area household income is a research scenario, not a universal eligibility threshold — these are the programs (city, county, or state) whose published limits are worth investigating for that scenario.
CalHFA MyHome Assistance Program
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
This is a standing, non-lottery assistance program tied to CalHFA first mortgages — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator the way lottery-based programs do. The mechanics below were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A deferred-payment junior loan of up to 3.5% of the purchase price or appraised value (whichever is less) for government loans (FHA), or up to 3% for conventional loans, paired with a CalHFA first mortgage. No monthly payments — repaid when the home is sold, refinanced, or the first mortgage is paid off.
- Assistance type
- Deferred-payment junior loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 3.5% of purchase price/appraised value (FHA) or up to 3% (conventional) — deferred loan
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size, unlike typical AMI tables) — see the official income limits page/PDF. For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026, grouped with other 'high-cost county' limits (Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo). Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program)
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
Like MyHome, this is a standing, non-lottery program tied to a specific CalHFA first mortgage (CalPLUS) — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator. Mechanics were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A zero-interest second loan equal to 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount, usable only for closing costs — not down payment or debt payoff. No payments while owned; deferred for the life of the CalPLUS first mortgage.
- Assistance type
- Zero-interest deferred loan (closing costs only)
- Potential amount
- 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount — zero-interest, closing costs only
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size). For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026 — CalPLUS ZIP shares CalHFA's standard income-limit table with MyHome. Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Not stated
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Empower Homebuyers SCC
County of Santa Clara Office of Supportive Housing (administered by Housing Trust Silicon Valley)
Fully subscribed as of verification — no longer accepting new applications. Program sunset date June 30, 2026, per the official program administrator. Interested buyers are directed to a Homeownership Assistance Interest List for updates on alternative programs.
A shared-appreciation down payment loan of up to 17% of the home's purchase price, funded by the 2016 Measure A Affordable Housing Bond. No monthly payments or interest — the loan plus a share of home appreciation is repaid at sale, refinance, or loan maturity.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 17% of purchase price (shared-appreciation loan) — program is closed to new applicants
- Income / AMI limit
- Household income was capped at 120% of Area Median Income (AMI) for Santa Clara County when the program was accepting applications — the dollar figure depends on household size.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Depends on household size
Income cap was 120% AMI for Santa Clara County. Per the official 2026 Santa Clara County AMI table (santaclaraca.gov, effective 2026-05-29), 120% AMI is $172,600 for a 1-person household and $197,300 for a 2-person household — a ~$190K income would exceed the 1-person limit but fall under the 2-person-and-larger limits.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Homebuyer Empowerment Loan Program (HELP)
Housing Trust Silicon Valley
The official program-listing page states this program's status as "All funds allocated" — not accepting new applications as of verification.
A shared-appreciation down payment loan of up to 10% of the home purchase price. No monthly payments or interest — at maturity, sale, or refinance, the borrower repays the original loan plus a share of appreciation.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 10% of home purchase price — shared-appreciation loan
- Income / AMI limit
- Income limit is 140% of Area Median Income, ranging from $191,310 (1-person household) to $317,030 (6-person household).
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
Published income limit is $191,310 for a 1-person household (140% AMI), scaling up to $317,030 for a 6-person household — a ~$190K income is at or under this limit at every household size, the strongest income match of any program in this table.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Research aid, not a calculator
Household income around $190K?
For every program we could research, here's the current signal — never an eligibility determination.
| Program | ~$190K research signal | Why |
|---|---|---|
| CalHFA MyHome Assistance Program | Potentially relevant | For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only. |
| California Dream For All Shared Appreciation Loan | Needs verification | CalHFA does not publish a specific dollar income limit on this page — only that county income limits apply — and the program shows no open 2026 round to check against currently. |
| CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program) | Potentially relevant | For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only. |
| Empower Homebuyers SCC | Depends on household size | Income cap was 120% AMI for Santa Clara County. Per the official 2026 Santa Clara County AMI table (santaclaraca.gov, effective 2026-05-29), 120% AMI is $172,600 for a 1-person household and $197,300 for a 2-person household — a ~$190K income would exceed the 1-person limit but fall under the 2-person-and-larger limits. |
| GSFA Golden Opportunities Program | No explicit income limit found | No income limit is stated on the official Golden Opportunities page — eligibility is driven by the underlying FHA/VA/USDA/Conventional loan program's own limits, not a GSFA-specific income cap. |
| GSFA Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) Program | Needs verification | No income limit figure is stated on the official page, and the program shows no funds currently available to check eligibility against. |
| GSFA Platinum | Needs verification | GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county but not the specific dollar figures on this page — cannot classify a ~$190K scenario without the county-specific number. |
| Home Access Program | Likely above income limit | Published income limit is 80% AMI: $95,050 (1-person) to $135,750 (4-person) for Alameda/Contra Costa counties. A ~$190K income clearly exceeds this ceiling at every household size shown. |
| Homebuyer Empowerment Loan Program (HELP) | Potentially relevant | Published income limit is $191,310 for a 1-person household (140% AMI), scaling up to $317,030 for a 6-person household — a ~$190K income is at or under this limit at every household size, the strongest income match of any program in this table. |
| Milpitas Below Market Rate (BMR) Homeownership Program | Needs verification | No income limit is published on the official program page — cannot classify a ~$190K household against this program without unit-specific figures. |
| WISH (Workforce Initiative Subsidy for Homeownership) | Likely above income limit | Capped at 80% of HUD AMI. Even the highest 80% AMI figure in this table's own household-size range (Alameda County, 6-person household) is $157,500 — a ~$190K household income exceeds the 80% AMI ceiling at every household size. |
Checked but not confirmed this pass (1)
- Income limits, minimum down payment, current unit availability: None of these are published on the official city BMR page as of this pass — only the sign-up process for future-opportunity notifications is described.
Beyond the city
County / Regional options
Santa Clara County programs that apply to buyers purchasing in Milpitas.
Empower Homebuyers SCC
County of Santa Clara Office of Supportive Housing (administered by Housing Trust Silicon Valley)
Fully subscribed as of verification — no longer accepting new applications. Program sunset date June 30, 2026, per the official program administrator. Interested buyers are directed to a Homeownership Assistance Interest List for updates on alternative programs.
A shared-appreciation down payment loan of up to 17% of the home's purchase price, funded by the 2016 Measure A Affordable Housing Bond. No monthly payments or interest — the loan plus a share of home appreciation is repaid at sale, refinance, or loan maturity.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 17% of purchase price (shared-appreciation loan) — program is closed to new applicants
- Income / AMI limit
- Household income was capped at 120% of Area Median Income (AMI) for Santa Clara County when the program was accepting applications — the dollar figure depends on household size.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Depends on household size
Income cap was 120% AMI for Santa Clara County. Per the official 2026 Santa Clara County AMI table (santaclaraca.gov, effective 2026-05-29), 120% AMI is $172,600 for a 1-person household and $197,300 for a 2-person household — a ~$190K income would exceed the 1-person limit but fall under the 2-person-and-larger limits.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Home Access Program
Housing Trust Silicon Valley
The official program-listing page marks this program's status as "Available."
A 30-year deferred loan of up to 40% of the purchase price, capped at $200,000, with simple interest accruing annually (not shared-appreciation). No monthly payments during the term; full repayment due at 30 years or sooner if the home is sold, transferred, or refinanced.
- Assistance type
- Deferred simple-interest loan (not shared-appreciation)
- Potential amount
- Up to 40% of purchase price, maximum $200,000 — 30-year deferred loan
- Income / AMI limit
- 80% AMI, published for Alameda and Contra Costa counties as $95,050 (1-person) to $135,750 (4-person) on the official page — Santa Clara County's own figure was not separately stated, suggesting this program (like HELP) may serve a broader Housing Trust Silicon Valley area rather than Santa Clara County alone. Confirm current limits for your specific county.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Likely above income limit
Published income limit is 80% AMI: $95,050 (1-person) to $135,750 (4-person) for Alameda/Contra Costa counties. A ~$190K income clearly exceeds this ceiling at every household size shown.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Homebuyer Empowerment Loan Program (HELP)
Housing Trust Silicon Valley
The official program-listing page states this program's status as "All funds allocated" — not accepting new applications as of verification.
A shared-appreciation down payment loan of up to 10% of the home purchase price. No monthly payments or interest — at maturity, sale, or refinance, the borrower repays the original loan plus a share of appreciation.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 10% of home purchase price — shared-appreciation loan
- Income / AMI limit
- Income limit is 140% of Area Median Income, ranging from $191,310 (1-person household) to $317,030 (6-person household).
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
Published income limit is $191,310 for a 1-person household (140% AMI), scaling up to $317,030 for a 6-person household — a ~$190K income is at or under this limit at every household size, the strongest income match of any program in this table.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Statewide
California options
State programs any eligible California first-time buyer can research, regardless of city.
CalHFA MyHome Assistance Program
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
This is a standing, non-lottery assistance program tied to CalHFA first mortgages — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator the way lottery-based programs do. The mechanics below were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A deferred-payment junior loan of up to 3.5% of the purchase price or appraised value (whichever is less) for government loans (FHA), or up to 3% for conventional loans, paired with a CalHFA first mortgage. No monthly payments — repaid when the home is sold, refinanced, or the first mortgage is paid off.
- Assistance type
- Deferred-payment junior loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 3.5% of purchase price/appraised value (FHA) or up to 3% (conventional) — deferred loan
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size, unlike typical AMI tables) — see the official income limits page/PDF. For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026, grouped with other 'high-cost county' limits (Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo). Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
California Dream For All Shared Appreciation Loan
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
The 2026 registration period for a down payment loan voucher closed March 16, 2026; vouchers from the randomized drawing were released May 20, 2026 to selected applicants (categorized Not Selected / Waitlist / Voucher Issued). No new registration round shown on the official page as of verification — monitor the official page for the next round.
Offers up to 20% of the purchase price for down payment or closing costs (not to exceed $150,000), as a shared-appreciation loan alongside a CalHFA first mortgage. At repayment, the borrower repays the original loan plus a share of the home's appreciation — 20% of appreciation for moderate-income borrowers, or a reduced 15% share (using a 0.75:1 formula) for borrowers at or below 80% AMI.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 20% of purchase price, not to exceed $150,000 — shared-appreciation loan
- Income / AMI limit
- Combined household income must meet CalHFA's published income limits for the county of purchase — the program page does not state the specific figures.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
CalHFA does not publish a specific dollar income limit on this page — only that county income limits apply — and the program shows no open 2026 round to check against currently.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program)
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
Like MyHome, this is a standing, non-lottery program tied to a specific CalHFA first mortgage (CalPLUS) — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator. Mechanics were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A zero-interest second loan equal to 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount, usable only for closing costs — not down payment or debt payoff. No payments while owned; deferred for the life of the CalPLUS first mortgage.
- Assistance type
- Zero-interest deferred loan (closing costs only)
- Potential amount
- 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount — zero-interest, closing costs only
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size). For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026 — CalPLUS ZIP shares CalHFA's standard income-limit table with MyHome. Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Not stated
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
GSFA Golden Opportunities Program
Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)
Official page presents the program as currently active, with application instructions and no suspension/closure notice.
Up to 5% of the first mortgage amount toward down payment and closing costs, for buyers using FHA, VA, USDA, or Conventional financing. Structured as a 3.5% second mortgage (15-year amortizing, monthly payments) plus up to 1.5% in non-repayable gift funds.
- Assistance type
- Amortizing second mortgage + gift funds
- Potential amount
- Up to 5% of first mortgage amount (3.5% amortizing second mortgage + up to 1.5% non-repayable gift)
- Income / AMI limit
- Not stated on the official page fetched this pass.
- First-time buyer required
- No
- ~$190K research signal
- No explicit income limit found
No income limit is stated on the official Golden Opportunities page — eligibility is driven by the underlying FHA/VA/USDA/Conventional loan program's own limits, not a GSFA-specific income cap.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
GSFA Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) Program
Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)
The official page states "All Program funds are currently allocated," updated January 1, 2025 — not accepting new applications as of verification.
Not a direct-assistance loan or grant — a federal tax credit equal to 20% of annual mortgage interest paid, claimable for the life of the loan while the home remains the borrower's primary residence. The remaining 80% of mortgage interest is still separately deductible.
- Assistance type
- Tax credit
- Potential amount
- 20% of annual mortgage interest paid, as a federal tax credit — not a lump sum
- Income / AMI limit
- Not stated on the official page.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
No income limit figure is stated on the official page, and the program shows no funds currently available to check eligibility against.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
GSFA Platinum
Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)
Promotion explicitly stated as extended through August 2026 on the official page.
Combination down payment/closing-cost assistance of up to 5.5% of the loan amount, structured as a repayable second mortgage and/or gift funds depending on the option selected (e.g. GSFA Platinum Select offers up to 3.5% as a repayable second plus up to 1.5% as gift funds).
- Assistance type
- Repayable second mortgage and/or gift funds (varies by option)
- Potential amount
- Up to 5.5% combined (e.g. up to 3.5% repayable second + up to 1.5% gift funds under Platinum Select)
- Income / AMI limit
- GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county for conventional loans — the program page does not state the specific dollar figures.
- First-time buyer required
- No
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county but not the specific dollar figures on this page — cannot classify a ~$190K scenario without the county-specific number.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
WISH (Workforce Initiative Subsidy for Homeownership)
Federal Home Loan Bank of San Francisco (disbursed through participating member financial institutions)
2026 program cycle is funded at $13 million; member institutions can submit participation requests through the Community Investment Portal through 2027-03-12 — confirm the exact current window with a participating lender, as FHLBank cycle dates can shift.
A 4-to-1 matching grant for lower-income first-time homebuyers: a household that contributes its own funds can receive a matching grant up to $32,837 (amount set by the Federal Housing Finance Agency). Grant is secured by a second deed of trust that amortizes over a retention period and is forgiven if the buyer maintains owner-occupancy through it.
- Assistance type
- Forgivable matching grant (second deed of trust)
- Potential amount
- Up to $32,837, as a 4:1 match of the buyer's own contribution
- Income / AMI limit
- Tied to 80% of HUD AMI for the applicable area/household size — not a single statewide dollar figure; varies by county and household size.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Likely above income limit
Capped at 80% of HUD AMI. Even the highest 80% AMI figure in this table's own household-size range (Alameda County, 6-person household) is $157,500 — a ~$190K household income exceeds the 80% AMI ceiling at every household size.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Next steps
What to do next
- 01
Create a HouseKeys account and request an Application ID
This is the only way the city currently notifies interested buyers when a Milpitas BMR ownership opportunity opens — there's no separate waitlist to join.
- 02
Check Santa Clara County's Home Access Program in parallel
Home Access is currently open (80% AMI) and doesn't depend on Milpitas having its own city funding — worth checking alongside the BMR sign-up.
- 03
Contact the Office of Housing for a direct answer
408-586-3222 or housing@milpitas.gov — the fastest way to get current unit availability and income-limit specifics beyond what the public page states.
- 04
Ask a CalHFA or GSFA-approved lender about state programs
MyHome, CalPLUS ZIP, and the GSFA programs are all available to eligible California buyers regardless of whether Milpitas currently has a BMR unit open.
Connect to True Cost
Found a program you may qualify for?
Calculate the home's actual monthly cost and cash needs first, then verify with the program administrator how assistance affects your financing.
Calculate True CostThis page is a research aid, not a guarantee of eligibility or funding availability. FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee any government program — always confirm current details directly with the official source before relying on them.
Sources
Provenance for the claims on this page
Government (city)
City of Milpitas — Below Market Rate (BMR) Homeownership Program
Supports: Program structure, administrator (HouseKeys), unit-type restriction. Accessed Sep 4, 2026.
Government (city, covers Santa Clara County)
City of Santa Clara — 2026 Area Median Income table
Supports: Santa Clara County AMI figures used for the county-level programs above. Accessed Sep 4, 2026.