Programs & Assistance · Alameda County
Newark First-Time Homebuyer Programs
Newark is building its first-ever city down payment assistance program. It's not accepting applications yet — here's what's actually confirmed, and what a Newark buyer should watch for next.
Last checked: Aug 31, 2026
At a glance
What we could verify today
City program
Upcoming — Interest List Open
County
Alameda County
Best current action
Join the official Newark Down Payment Assistance interest list
Does this apply to your city right now?
Treat the city status as the starting point, then check county and California programs in parallel. Many buyers search for a city program first, but the usable answer may be a county fund, a CalHFA-approved lender path, a periodic below-market opening, or a closed program worth monitoring rather than an always-open city grant.
Track A
Income-Restricted Programs
City-administered programs for low- and moderate-income first-time buyers in Newark.
Newark Down Payment Assistance Program
City of Newark Housing Programs Division (administered by Hello Housing)
The official City of Newark housing page and Hello Housing's official program page (both directly fetched 2026-08-31) state the program is not yet accepting applications — an interest list is open, described as the way to "receive program updates, eligibility details, and important announcements leading up to the launch." A May 26, 2026 local news article (Tri-City Voice) reported the City was "accepting applications" for the program's inaugural round with a stated $3M allocation and a family-of-4 120%-AMI limit of $186,850 — that claim conflicts with this record's directly-verified current status and is not used as the production status; it may reflect an earlier stage of the program that has since moved to interest-list-only, or an inaccuracy in the secondary source. Flagged here per the registry's conflicting-source policy rather than silently reconciled.
A deferred-payment loan toward the purchase of a home within Newark city limits, funded by the City's Housing Impact Fee Fund. Per Hello Housing's official program page: a maximum loan of $200,000 for households at or below 100% AMI, or $150,000 for households at or below 120% AMI, capped at the first mortgage amount. No monthly payments are due while the loan is deferred (specific repayment triggers not detailed on the official page).
- Assistance type
- Deferred-payment loan
- Potential amount
- Up to $200,000 (≤100% AMI) or $150,000 (≤120% AMI) — deferred-payment loan, capped at the first mortgage amount
- Income / AMI limit
- Assistance tier is AMI-based (100% vs. 120% AMI) rather than a single figure. Neither the City's nor Hello Housing's official page publishes a household-size income table; a secondary May 2026 news article cited $186,850 as the 120% AMI limit for a 4-person Newark household, not independently confirmed against an official AMI table this pass.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Depends on household size
Assistance tier depends on 100%/120% Alameda County AMI, which was not published on the official pages by household size. A secondary source's cited 4-person 120% AMI figure (~$186,850) would put a ~$190K income right at or just above that threshold for a 4-person household — larger households would have a higher ceiling, smaller households a lower one.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Track B
Programs worth checking at higher Bay Area incomes
A ~$190K Bay Area household income is a research scenario, not a universal eligibility threshold — these are the programs (city, county, or state) whose published limits are worth investigating for that scenario.
AC Boost
Alameda County Housing and Community Development Department (managed by Hello Housing)
Pre-application period closed May 15, 2024; a Funding Cycle 3 lottery was held June 5, 2024. The official page shows no newer round as of verification — current status could reflect a paused, fully-subscribed, or between-cycles program; check the official page directly.
A shared-appreciation down payment assistance loan of up to $210,000 for households at or below 100% AMI, or up to $160,000 for households at or below 120% AMI. No payments due during the loan term.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation loan
- Potential amount
- Up to $210,000 (household income ≤100% AMI) or up to $160,000 (≤120% AMI) — shared-appreciation loan
- Income / AMI limit
- Assistance amount scales with income: up to $210,000 at or below 100% AMI, or up to $160,000 at or below 120% AMI. AMI dollar limits are updated annually (typically late spring) and are not listed on the general program page — check the official eligibility checker for current figures.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Depends on household size
Assistance tier depends on being at/below 100% or 120% Alameda County AMI. Alameda County's 2026 120% AMI figure for a 4-person household is approximately $186,850 (per a secondary source citing the county's own AMI table; not independently re-confirmed against the primary table this pass) — a ~$190K income is right at or just above that figure for a 4-person household, and the ratio would differ for other household sizes.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
CalHFA MyHome Assistance Program
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
This is a standing, non-lottery assistance program tied to CalHFA first mortgages — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator the way lottery-based programs do. The mechanics below were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A deferred-payment junior loan of up to 3.5% of the purchase price or appraised value (whichever is less) for government loans (FHA), or up to 3% for conventional loans, paired with a CalHFA first mortgage. No monthly payments — repaid when the home is sold, refinanced, or the first mortgage is paid off.
- Assistance type
- Deferred-payment junior loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 3.5% of purchase price/appraised value (FHA) or up to 3% (conventional) — deferred loan
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size, unlike typical AMI tables) — see the official income limits page/PDF. For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026, grouped with other 'high-cost county' limits (Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo). Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program)
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
Like MyHome, this is a standing, non-lottery program tied to a specific CalHFA first mortgage (CalPLUS) — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator. Mechanics were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A zero-interest second loan equal to 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount, usable only for closing costs — not down payment or debt payoff. No payments while owned; deferred for the life of the CalPLUS first mortgage.
- Assistance type
- Zero-interest deferred loan (closing costs only)
- Potential amount
- 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount — zero-interest, closing costs only
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size). For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026 — CalPLUS ZIP shares CalHFA's standard income-limit table with MyHome. Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Not stated
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Newark Down Payment Assistance Program
City of Newark Housing Programs Division (administered by Hello Housing)
The official City of Newark housing page and Hello Housing's official program page (both directly fetched 2026-08-31) state the program is not yet accepting applications — an interest list is open, described as the way to "receive program updates, eligibility details, and important announcements leading up to the launch." A May 26, 2026 local news article (Tri-City Voice) reported the City was "accepting applications" for the program's inaugural round with a stated $3M allocation and a family-of-4 120%-AMI limit of $186,850 — that claim conflicts with this record's directly-verified current status and is not used as the production status; it may reflect an earlier stage of the program that has since moved to interest-list-only, or an inaccuracy in the secondary source. Flagged here per the registry's conflicting-source policy rather than silently reconciled.
A deferred-payment loan toward the purchase of a home within Newark city limits, funded by the City's Housing Impact Fee Fund. Per Hello Housing's official program page: a maximum loan of $200,000 for households at or below 100% AMI, or $150,000 for households at or below 120% AMI, capped at the first mortgage amount. No monthly payments are due while the loan is deferred (specific repayment triggers not detailed on the official page).
- Assistance type
- Deferred-payment loan
- Potential amount
- Up to $200,000 (≤100% AMI) or $150,000 (≤120% AMI) — deferred-payment loan, capped at the first mortgage amount
- Income / AMI limit
- Assistance tier is AMI-based (100% vs. 120% AMI) rather than a single figure. Neither the City's nor Hello Housing's official page publishes a household-size income table; a secondary May 2026 news article cited $186,850 as the 120% AMI limit for a 4-person Newark household, not independently confirmed against an official AMI table this pass.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Depends on household size
Assistance tier depends on 100%/120% Alameda County AMI, which was not published on the official pages by household size. A secondary source's cited 4-person 120% AMI figure (~$186,850) would put a ~$190K income right at or just above that threshold for a 4-person household — larger households would have a higher ceiling, smaller households a lower one.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Research aid, not a calculator
Household income around $190K?
For every program we could research, here's the current signal — never an eligibility determination.
| Program | ~$190K research signal | Why |
|---|---|---|
| AC Boost | Depends on household size | Assistance tier depends on being at/below 100% or 120% Alameda County AMI. Alameda County's 2026 120% AMI figure for a 4-person household is approximately $186,850 (per a secondary source citing the county's own AMI table; not independently re-confirmed against the primary table this pass) — a ~$190K income is right at or just above that figure for a 4-person household, and the ratio would differ for other household sizes. |
| CalHFA MyHome Assistance Program | Potentially relevant | For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only. |
| California Dream For All Shared Appreciation Loan | Needs verification | CalHFA does not publish a specific dollar income limit on this page — only that county income limits apply — and the program shows no open 2026 round to check against currently. |
| CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program) | Potentially relevant | For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only. |
| GSFA Golden Opportunities Program | No explicit income limit found | No income limit is stated on the official Golden Opportunities page — eligibility is driven by the underlying FHA/VA/USDA/Conventional loan program's own limits, not a GSFA-specific income cap. |
| GSFA Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) Program | Needs verification | No income limit figure is stated on the official page, and the program shows no funds currently available to check eligibility against. |
| GSFA Platinum | Needs verification | GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county but not the specific dollar figures on this page — cannot classify a ~$190K scenario without the county-specific number. |
| Newark Down Payment Assistance Program | Depends on household size | Assistance tier depends on 100%/120% Alameda County AMI, which was not published on the official pages by household size. A secondary source's cited 4-person 120% AMI figure (~$186,850) would put a ~$190K income right at or just above that threshold for a 4-person household — larger households would have a higher ceiling, smaller households a lower one. |
| WISH (Workforce Initiative Subsidy for Homeownership) | Likely above income limit | Capped at 80% of HUD AMI. Even the highest 80% AMI figure in this table's own household-size range (Alameda County, 6-person household) is $157,500 — a ~$190K household income exceeds the 80% AMI ceiling at every household size. |
Checked but not confirmed this pass (1)
- “Accepting applications” claim (Tri-City Voice, May 26, 2026): A local news article reported the City was already accepting applications, with a $3M allocation and a cited 4-person 120%-AMI limit of $186,850. The official City of Newark page and Hello Housing's official program page, both fetched 2026-08-31, describe the program as interest-list-only with no application currently open. The more recent, directly-verified official pages are used as the production status; the article's claim is documented here rather than silently dropped or silently trusted.
Beyond the city
County / Regional options
Alameda County programs that apply to buyers purchasing in Newark.
AC Boost
Alameda County Housing and Community Development Department (managed by Hello Housing)
Pre-application period closed May 15, 2024; a Funding Cycle 3 lottery was held June 5, 2024. The official page shows no newer round as of verification — current status could reflect a paused, fully-subscribed, or between-cycles program; check the official page directly.
A shared-appreciation down payment assistance loan of up to $210,000 for households at or below 100% AMI, or up to $160,000 for households at or below 120% AMI. No payments due during the loan term.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation loan
- Potential amount
- Up to $210,000 (household income ≤100% AMI) or up to $160,000 (≤120% AMI) — shared-appreciation loan
- Income / AMI limit
- Assistance amount scales with income: up to $210,000 at or below 100% AMI, or up to $160,000 at or below 120% AMI. AMI dollar limits are updated annually (typically late spring) and are not listed on the general program page — check the official eligibility checker for current figures.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Depends on household size
Assistance tier depends on being at/below 100% or 120% Alameda County AMI. Alameda County's 2026 120% AMI figure for a 4-person household is approximately $186,850 (per a secondary source citing the county's own AMI table; not independently re-confirmed against the primary table this pass) — a ~$190K income is right at or just above that figure for a 4-person household, and the ratio would differ for other household sizes.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Statewide
California options
State programs any eligible California first-time buyer can research, regardless of city.
CalHFA MyHome Assistance Program
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
This is a standing, non-lottery assistance program tied to CalHFA first mortgages — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator the way lottery-based programs do. The mechanics below were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A deferred-payment junior loan of up to 3.5% of the purchase price or appraised value (whichever is less) for government loans (FHA), or up to 3% for conventional loans, paired with a CalHFA first mortgage. No monthly payments — repaid when the home is sold, refinanced, or the first mortgage is paid off.
- Assistance type
- Deferred-payment junior loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 3.5% of purchase price/appraised value (FHA) or up to 3% (conventional) — deferred loan
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size, unlike typical AMI tables) — see the official income limits page/PDF. For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026, grouped with other 'high-cost county' limits (Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo). Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
California Dream For All Shared Appreciation Loan
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
The 2026 registration period for a down payment loan voucher closed March 16, 2026; vouchers from the randomized drawing were released May 20, 2026 to selected applicants (categorized Not Selected / Waitlist / Voucher Issued). No new registration round shown on the official page as of verification — monitor the official page for the next round.
Offers up to 20% of the purchase price for down payment or closing costs (not to exceed $150,000), as a shared-appreciation loan alongside a CalHFA first mortgage. At repayment, the borrower repays the original loan plus a share of the home's appreciation — 20% of appreciation for moderate-income borrowers, or a reduced 15% share (using a 0.75:1 formula) for borrowers at or below 80% AMI.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 20% of purchase price, not to exceed $150,000 — shared-appreciation loan
- Income / AMI limit
- Combined household income must meet CalHFA's published income limits for the county of purchase — the program page does not state the specific figures.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
CalHFA does not publish a specific dollar income limit on this page — only that county income limits apply — and the program shows no open 2026 round to check against currently.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program)
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
Like MyHome, this is a standing, non-lottery program tied to a specific CalHFA first mortgage (CalPLUS) — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator. Mechanics were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A zero-interest second loan equal to 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount, usable only for closing costs — not down payment or debt payoff. No payments while owned; deferred for the life of the CalPLUS first mortgage.
- Assistance type
- Zero-interest deferred loan (closing costs only)
- Potential amount
- 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount — zero-interest, closing costs only
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size). For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026 — CalPLUS ZIP shares CalHFA's standard income-limit table with MyHome. Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Not stated
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
GSFA Golden Opportunities Program
Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)
Official page presents the program as currently active, with application instructions and no suspension/closure notice.
Up to 5% of the first mortgage amount toward down payment and closing costs, for buyers using FHA, VA, USDA, or Conventional financing. Structured as a 3.5% second mortgage (15-year amortizing, monthly payments) plus up to 1.5% in non-repayable gift funds.
- Assistance type
- Amortizing second mortgage + gift funds
- Potential amount
- Up to 5% of first mortgage amount (3.5% amortizing second mortgage + up to 1.5% non-repayable gift)
- Income / AMI limit
- Not stated on the official page fetched this pass.
- First-time buyer required
- No
- ~$190K research signal
- No explicit income limit found
No income limit is stated on the official Golden Opportunities page — eligibility is driven by the underlying FHA/VA/USDA/Conventional loan program's own limits, not a GSFA-specific income cap.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
GSFA Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) Program
Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)
The official page states "All Program funds are currently allocated," updated January 1, 2025 — not accepting new applications as of verification.
Not a direct-assistance loan or grant — a federal tax credit equal to 20% of annual mortgage interest paid, claimable for the life of the loan while the home remains the borrower's primary residence. The remaining 80% of mortgage interest is still separately deductible.
- Assistance type
- Tax credit
- Potential amount
- 20% of annual mortgage interest paid, as a federal tax credit — not a lump sum
- Income / AMI limit
- Not stated on the official page.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
No income limit figure is stated on the official page, and the program shows no funds currently available to check eligibility against.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
GSFA Platinum
Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)
Promotion explicitly stated as extended through August 2026 on the official page.
Combination down payment/closing-cost assistance of up to 5.5% of the loan amount, structured as a repayable second mortgage and/or gift funds depending on the option selected (e.g. GSFA Platinum Select offers up to 3.5% as a repayable second plus up to 1.5% as gift funds).
- Assistance type
- Repayable second mortgage and/or gift funds (varies by option)
- Potential amount
- Up to 5.5% combined (e.g. up to 3.5% repayable second + up to 1.5% gift funds under Platinum Select)
- Income / AMI limit
- GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county for conventional loans — the program page does not state the specific dollar figures.
- First-time buyer required
- No
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county but not the specific dollar figures on this page — cannot classify a ~$190K scenario without the county-specific number.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
WISH (Workforce Initiative Subsidy for Homeownership)
Federal Home Loan Bank of San Francisco (disbursed through participating member financial institutions)
2026 program cycle is funded at $13 million; member institutions can submit participation requests through the Community Investment Portal through 2027-03-12 — confirm the exact current window with a participating lender, as FHLBank cycle dates can shift.
A 4-to-1 matching grant for lower-income first-time homebuyers: a household that contributes its own funds can receive a matching grant up to $32,837 (amount set by the Federal Housing Finance Agency). Grant is secured by a second deed of trust that amortizes over a retention period and is forgiven if the buyer maintains owner-occupancy through it.
- Assistance type
- Forgivable matching grant (second deed of trust)
- Potential amount
- Up to $32,837, as a 4:1 match of the buyer's own contribution
- Income / AMI limit
- Tied to 80% of HUD AMI for the applicable area/household size — not a single statewide dollar figure; varies by county and household size.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Likely above income limit
Capped at 80% of HUD AMI. Even the highest 80% AMI figure in this table's own household-size range (Alameda County, 6-person household) is $157,500 — a ~$190K household income exceeds the 80% AMI ceiling at every household size.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Next steps
What to do next
- 01
Join the interest list
Hello Housing administers Newark's interest list at hellohousing.org — this is the only way to get eligibility details and launch updates right now.
- 02
Check Alameda County's AC Boost in parallel
AC Boost is currently not accepting new applications (Funding Cycle 3 closed May 2024), but its own mailing list is a second place to watch for Newark buyers.
- 03
Ask a CalHFA-approved lender about MyHome or Dream For All
These state programs don't require Newark residency and can be paired with a first mortgage while you wait on the city program.
- 04
Don't budget around the $150K/$200K figures yet
The tiered assistance amounts are published by Hello Housing, but full guidelines (household-size income table, exact repayment terms) aren't public yet — treat the numbers as directional until the program formally launches.
Connect to True Cost
Found a program you may qualify for?
Calculate the home's actual monthly cost and cash needs first, then verify with the program administrator how assistance affects your financing.
Calculate True CostThis page is a research aid, not a guarantee of eligibility or funding availability. FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee any government program — always confirm current details directly with the official source before relying on them.
Sources
Provenance for the claims on this page
Government (city)
City of Newark — Housing Programs, Current Efforts
Supports: Program status (interest-list phase), administering organization. Accessed Aug 31, 2026.
Official administrator
Hello Housing — Newark Down Payment Assistance
Supports: Assistance amounts ($150,000 / $200,000 tiers), AMI structure, interest-list status. Accessed Aug 31, 2026.
Government (city)
City of Newark — Alameda County AMI Table (2026)
Supports: 2026 Alameda County income-tier context. Accessed Aug 31, 2026.
Government (county)
Supports: County-level down payment assistance alternative. Accessed Aug 31, 2026.