Programs & Assistance · Santa Clara County

Santa Clara First-Time Homebuyer Programs

Santa Clara has run a Below Market Purchase (BMP) homeownership program since 1995. It isn't continuously open — homes are released periodically — so buyers should watch the BMP interest list while checking county and CalHFA backups in parallel.

Last checked: Aug 31, 2026

At a glance

What we could verify today

City program

Periodic Availability — BMP homes released as they become available

County

Santa Clara County

Best current action

Join the Santa Clara BMP interest list

Does this apply to your city right now?

Treat the city status as the starting point, then check county and California programs in parallel. Many buyers search for a city program first, but the usable answer may be a county fund, a CalHFA-approved lender path, a periodic below-market opening, or a closed program worth monitoring rather than an always-open city grant.

Explore Santa Clara →

Track A

Income-Restricted Programs

City-administered programs for low- and moderate-income first-time buyers in Santa Clara.

Santa Clara Below Market Purchase (BMP) Program

City of Santa Clara Community Development Department (administered by Hello Housing)

Limited

Operating since 1995. Not continuously open — homes become available periodically as new developments include BMP units or existing BMP owners resell. A real recent example: a 4-bedroom BMP townhome at 2913 Corvin Drive #155 had a pre-application period open through March 10, 2026. An interest list is available for notification of future openings; no homes were confirmed currently in an open pre-application period as of this verification.

An opportunity to purchase a below-market-price home in Santa Clara — detached homes, condos, townhomes, or manufactured homes the buyer will occupy as a primary residence. This is a purchase-price discount on a specific unit, not a cash loan or grant.

Assistance type
Below-market/affordable ownership opportunity
Potential amount
Not a cash loan/grant — a below-market purchase price on a specific unit, set when the unit is built/resold
Income / AMI limit
120% AMI for Santa Clara County. Per the official 2026 Santa Clara County AMI table (City of Santa Clara, effective 2026-05-29): $172,600 (1-person), $197,300 (2-person), $221,950 (3-person), $246,600 (4-person). income_limit above reflects the 4-person figure.
First-time buyer required
Yes
~$190K research signal
Potentially relevant

Per the official 2026 AMI table, 120% AMI is $197,300 for a 2-person household up to $246,600 for a 4-person household — a ~$190K income is under the limit for every household size of 2 or more, and only slightly over the 1-person limit ($172,600).

Verified August 31, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

Join official interest list →

Track B

Programs worth checking at higher Bay Area incomes

A ~$190K Bay Area household income is a research scenario, not a universal eligibility threshold — these are the programs (city, county, or state) whose published limits are worth investigating for that scenario.

CalHFA MyHome Assistance Program

California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)

Unverified

This is a standing, non-lottery assistance program tied to CalHFA first mortgages — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator the way lottery-based programs do. The mechanics below were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.

A deferred-payment junior loan of up to 3.5% of the purchase price or appraised value (whichever is less) for government loans (FHA), or up to 3% for conventional loans, paired with a CalHFA first mortgage. No monthly payments — repaid when the home is sold, refinanced, or the first mortgage is paid off.

Assistance type
Deferred-payment junior loan
Potential amount
Up to 3.5% of purchase price/appraised value (FHA) or up to 3% (conventional) — deferred loan
Income / AMI limit
CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size, unlike typical AMI tables) — see the official income limits page/PDF. For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026, grouped with other 'high-cost county' limits (Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo). Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
First-time buyer required
Yes
~$190K research signal
Potentially relevant

For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only.

Verified August 31, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

View official program →

CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program)

California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)

Unverified

Like MyHome, this is a standing, non-lottery program tied to a specific CalHFA first mortgage (CalPLUS) — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator. Mechanics were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.

A zero-interest second loan equal to 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount, usable only for closing costs — not down payment or debt payoff. No payments while owned; deferred for the life of the CalPLUS first mortgage.

Assistance type
Zero-interest deferred loan (closing costs only)
Potential amount
2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount — zero-interest, closing costs only
Income / AMI limit
CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size). For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026 — CalPLUS ZIP shares CalHFA's standard income-limit table with MyHome. Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
First-time buyer required
Not stated
~$190K research signal
Potentially relevant

For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only.

Verified August 31, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

View official program →

Empower Homebuyers SCC

County of Santa Clara Office of Supportive Housing (administered by Housing Trust Silicon Valley)

Closed

Fully subscribed as of verification — no longer accepting new applications. Program sunset date June 30, 2026, per the official program administrator. Interested buyers are directed to a Homeownership Assistance Interest List for updates on alternative programs.

A shared-appreciation down payment loan of up to 17% of the home's purchase price, funded by the 2016 Measure A Affordable Housing Bond. No monthly payments or interest — the loan plus a share of home appreciation is repaid at sale, refinance, or loan maturity.

Assistance type
Shared-appreciation loan
Potential amount
Up to 17% of purchase price (shared-appreciation loan) — program is closed to new applicants
Income / AMI limit
Household income was capped at 120% of Area Median Income (AMI) for Santa Clara County when the program was accepting applications — the dollar figure depends on household size.
First-time buyer required
Yes
~$190K research signal
Depends on household size

Income cap was 120% AMI for Santa Clara County. Per the official 2026 Santa Clara County AMI table (santaclaraca.gov, effective 2026-05-29), 120% AMI is $172,600 for a 1-person household and $197,300 for a 2-person household — a ~$190K income would exceed the 1-person limit but fall under the 2-person-and-larger limits.

Verified August 28, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

View official program →

Homebuyer Empowerment Loan Program (HELP)

Housing Trust Silicon Valley

Closed

The official program-listing page states this program's status as "All funds allocated" — not accepting new applications as of verification.

A shared-appreciation down payment loan of up to 10% of the home purchase price. No monthly payments or interest — at maturity, sale, or refinance, the borrower repays the original loan plus a share of appreciation.

Assistance type
Shared-appreciation loan
Potential amount
Up to 10% of home purchase price — shared-appreciation loan
Income / AMI limit
Income limit is 140% of Area Median Income, ranging from $191,310 (1-person household) to $317,030 (6-person household).
First-time buyer required
Yes
~$190K research signal
Potentially relevant

Published income limit is $191,310 for a 1-person household (140% AMI), scaling up to $317,030 for a 6-person household — a ~$190K income is at or under this limit at every household size, the strongest income match of any program in this table.

Verified August 28, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

View official program →

Santa Clara Below Market Purchase (BMP) Program

City of Santa Clara Community Development Department (administered by Hello Housing)

Limited

Operating since 1995. Not continuously open — homes become available periodically as new developments include BMP units or existing BMP owners resell. A real recent example: a 4-bedroom BMP townhome at 2913 Corvin Drive #155 had a pre-application period open through March 10, 2026. An interest list is available for notification of future openings; no homes were confirmed currently in an open pre-application period as of this verification.

An opportunity to purchase a below-market-price home in Santa Clara — detached homes, condos, townhomes, or manufactured homes the buyer will occupy as a primary residence. This is a purchase-price discount on a specific unit, not a cash loan or grant.

Assistance type
Below-market/affordable ownership opportunity
Potential amount
Not a cash loan/grant — a below-market purchase price on a specific unit, set when the unit is built/resold
Income / AMI limit
120% AMI for Santa Clara County. Per the official 2026 Santa Clara County AMI table (City of Santa Clara, effective 2026-05-29): $172,600 (1-person), $197,300 (2-person), $221,950 (3-person), $246,600 (4-person). income_limit above reflects the 4-person figure.
First-time buyer required
Yes
~$190K research signal
Potentially relevant

Per the official 2026 AMI table, 120% AMI is $197,300 for a 2-person household up to $246,600 for a 4-person household — a ~$190K income is under the limit for every household size of 2 or more, and only slightly over the 1-person limit ($172,600).

Verified August 31, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

Join official interest list →

Research aid, not a calculator

Household income around $190K?

For every program we could research, here's the current signal — never an eligibility determination.

Program~$190K research signalWhy
CalHFA MyHome Assistance ProgramPotentially relevantFor Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
California Dream For All Shared Appreciation LoanNeeds verificationCalHFA does not publish a specific dollar income limit on this page — only that county income limits apply — and the program shows no open 2026 round to check against currently.
CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program)Potentially relevantFor Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
Empower Homebuyers SCCDepends on household sizeIncome cap was 120% AMI for Santa Clara County. Per the official 2026 Santa Clara County AMI table (santaclaraca.gov, effective 2026-05-29), 120% AMI is $172,600 for a 1-person household and $197,300 for a 2-person household — a ~$190K income would exceed the 1-person limit but fall under the 2-person-and-larger limits.
GSFA Golden Opportunities ProgramNo explicit income limit foundNo income limit is stated on the official Golden Opportunities page — eligibility is driven by the underlying FHA/VA/USDA/Conventional loan program's own limits, not a GSFA-specific income cap.
GSFA Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) ProgramNeeds verificationNo income limit figure is stated on the official page, and the program shows no funds currently available to check eligibility against.
GSFA PlatinumNeeds verificationGSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county but not the specific dollar figures on this page — cannot classify a ~$190K scenario without the county-specific number.
Home Access ProgramLikely above income limitPublished income limit is 80% AMI: $95,050 (1-person) to $135,750 (4-person) for Alameda/Contra Costa counties. A ~$190K income clearly exceeds this ceiling at every household size shown.
Homebuyer Empowerment Loan Program (HELP)Potentially relevantPublished income limit is $191,310 for a 1-person household (140% AMI), scaling up to $317,030 for a 6-person household — a ~$190K income is at or under this limit at every household size, the strongest income match of any program in this table.
Santa Clara Below Market Purchase (BMP) ProgramPotentially relevantPer the official 2026 AMI table, 120% AMI is $197,300 for a 2-person household up to $246,600 for a 4-person household — a ~$190K income is under the limit for every household size of 2 or more, and only slightly over the 1-person limit ($172,600).
WISH (Workforce Initiative Subsidy for Homeownership)Likely above income limitCapped at 80% of HUD AMI. Even the highest 80% AMI figure in this table's own household-size range (Alameda County, 6-person household) is $157,500 — a ~$190K household income exceeds the 80% AMI ceiling at every household size.

Beyond the city

County / Regional options

Santa Clara County programs that apply to buyers purchasing in Santa Clara.

Empower Homebuyers SCC

County of Santa Clara Office of Supportive Housing (administered by Housing Trust Silicon Valley)

Closed

Fully subscribed as of verification — no longer accepting new applications. Program sunset date June 30, 2026, per the official program administrator. Interested buyers are directed to a Homeownership Assistance Interest List for updates on alternative programs.

A shared-appreciation down payment loan of up to 17% of the home's purchase price, funded by the 2016 Measure A Affordable Housing Bond. No monthly payments or interest — the loan plus a share of home appreciation is repaid at sale, refinance, or loan maturity.

Assistance type
Shared-appreciation loan
Potential amount
Up to 17% of purchase price (shared-appreciation loan) — program is closed to new applicants
Income / AMI limit
Household income was capped at 120% of Area Median Income (AMI) for Santa Clara County when the program was accepting applications — the dollar figure depends on household size.
First-time buyer required
Yes
~$190K research signal
Depends on household size

Income cap was 120% AMI for Santa Clara County. Per the official 2026 Santa Clara County AMI table (santaclaraca.gov, effective 2026-05-29), 120% AMI is $172,600 for a 1-person household and $197,300 for a 2-person household — a ~$190K income would exceed the 1-person limit but fall under the 2-person-and-larger limits.

Verified August 28, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

View official program →

Home Access Program

Housing Trust Silicon Valley

Open

The official program-listing page marks this program's status as "Available."

A 30-year deferred loan of up to 40% of the purchase price, capped at $200,000, with simple interest accruing annually (not shared-appreciation). No monthly payments during the term; full repayment due at 30 years or sooner if the home is sold, transferred, or refinanced.

Assistance type
Deferred simple-interest loan (not shared-appreciation)
Potential amount
Up to 40% of purchase price, maximum $200,000 — 30-year deferred loan
Income / AMI limit
80% AMI, published for Alameda and Contra Costa counties as $95,050 (1-person) to $135,750 (4-person) on the official page — Santa Clara County's own figure was not separately stated, suggesting this program (like HELP) may serve a broader Housing Trust Silicon Valley area rather than Santa Clara County alone. Confirm current limits for your specific county.
First-time buyer required
Yes
~$190K research signal
Likely above income limit

Published income limit is 80% AMI: $95,050 (1-person) to $135,750 (4-person) for Alameda/Contra Costa counties. A ~$190K income clearly exceeds this ceiling at every household size shown.

Verified August 28, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

View official program →

Homebuyer Empowerment Loan Program (HELP)

Housing Trust Silicon Valley

Closed

The official program-listing page states this program's status as "All funds allocated" — not accepting new applications as of verification.

A shared-appreciation down payment loan of up to 10% of the home purchase price. No monthly payments or interest — at maturity, sale, or refinance, the borrower repays the original loan plus a share of appreciation.

Assistance type
Shared-appreciation loan
Potential amount
Up to 10% of home purchase price — shared-appreciation loan
Income / AMI limit
Income limit is 140% of Area Median Income, ranging from $191,310 (1-person household) to $317,030 (6-person household).
First-time buyer required
Yes
~$190K research signal
Potentially relevant

Published income limit is $191,310 for a 1-person household (140% AMI), scaling up to $317,030 for a 6-person household — a ~$190K income is at or under this limit at every household size, the strongest income match of any program in this table.

Verified August 28, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

View official program →

Statewide

California options

State programs any eligible California first-time buyer can research, regardless of city.

CalHFA MyHome Assistance Program

California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)

Unverified

This is a standing, non-lottery assistance program tied to CalHFA first mortgages — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator the way lottery-based programs do. The mechanics below were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.

A deferred-payment junior loan of up to 3.5% of the purchase price or appraised value (whichever is less) for government loans (FHA), or up to 3% for conventional loans, paired with a CalHFA first mortgage. No monthly payments — repaid when the home is sold, refinanced, or the first mortgage is paid off.

Assistance type
Deferred-payment junior loan
Potential amount
Up to 3.5% of purchase price/appraised value (FHA) or up to 3% (conventional) — deferred loan
Income / AMI limit
CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size, unlike typical AMI tables) — see the official income limits page/PDF. For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026, grouped with other 'high-cost county' limits (Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo). Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
First-time buyer required
Yes
~$190K research signal
Potentially relevant

For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only.

Verified August 31, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

View official program →

California Dream For All Shared Appreciation Loan

California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)

Closed

The 2026 registration period for a down payment loan voucher closed March 16, 2026; vouchers from the randomized drawing were released May 20, 2026 to selected applicants (categorized Not Selected / Waitlist / Voucher Issued). No new registration round shown on the official page as of verification — monitor the official page for the next round.

Offers up to 20% of the purchase price for down payment or closing costs (not to exceed $150,000), as a shared-appreciation loan alongside a CalHFA first mortgage. At repayment, the borrower repays the original loan plus a share of the home's appreciation — 20% of appreciation for moderate-income borrowers, or a reduced 15% share (using a 0.75:1 formula) for borrowers at or below 80% AMI.

Assistance type
Shared-appreciation loan
Potential amount
Up to 20% of purchase price, not to exceed $150,000 — shared-appreciation loan
Income / AMI limit
Combined household income must meet CalHFA's published income limits for the county of purchase — the program page does not state the specific figures.
First-time buyer required
Yes
~$190K research signal
Needs verification

CalHFA does not publish a specific dollar income limit on this page — only that county income limits apply — and the program shows no open 2026 round to check against currently.

Verified August 28, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

View official program →

CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program)

California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)

Unverified

Like MyHome, this is a standing, non-lottery program tied to a specific CalHFA first mortgage (CalPLUS) — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator. Mechanics were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.

A zero-interest second loan equal to 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount, usable only for closing costs — not down payment or debt payoff. No payments while owned; deferred for the life of the CalPLUS first mortgage.

Assistance type
Zero-interest deferred loan (closing costs only)
Potential amount
2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount — zero-interest, closing costs only
Income / AMI limit
CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size). For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026 — CalPLUS ZIP shares CalHFA's standard income-limit table with MyHome. Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
First-time buyer required
Not stated
~$190K research signal
Potentially relevant

For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only.

Verified August 31, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

View official program →

GSFA Golden Opportunities Program

Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)

Open

Official page presents the program as currently active, with application instructions and no suspension/closure notice.

Up to 5% of the first mortgage amount toward down payment and closing costs, for buyers using FHA, VA, USDA, or Conventional financing. Structured as a 3.5% second mortgage (15-year amortizing, monthly payments) plus up to 1.5% in non-repayable gift funds.

Assistance type
Amortizing second mortgage + gift funds
Potential amount
Up to 5% of first mortgage amount (3.5% amortizing second mortgage + up to 1.5% non-repayable gift)
Income / AMI limit
Not stated on the official page fetched this pass.
First-time buyer required
No
~$190K research signal
No explicit income limit found

No income limit is stated on the official Golden Opportunities page — eligibility is driven by the underlying FHA/VA/USDA/Conventional loan program's own limits, not a GSFA-specific income cap.

Verified September 1, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

View official program →

GSFA Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) Program

Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)

Closed

The official page states "All Program funds are currently allocated," updated January 1, 2025 — not accepting new applications as of verification.

Not a direct-assistance loan or grant — a federal tax credit equal to 20% of annual mortgage interest paid, claimable for the life of the loan while the home remains the borrower's primary residence. The remaining 80% of mortgage interest is still separately deductible.

Assistance type
Tax credit
Potential amount
20% of annual mortgage interest paid, as a federal tax credit — not a lump sum
Income / AMI limit
Not stated on the official page.
First-time buyer required
Yes
~$190K research signal
Needs verification

No income limit figure is stated on the official page, and the program shows no funds currently available to check eligibility against.

Verified August 28, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

View official program →

GSFA Platinum

Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)

Open

Promotion explicitly stated as extended through August 2026 on the official page.

Combination down payment/closing-cost assistance of up to 5.5% of the loan amount, structured as a repayable second mortgage and/or gift funds depending on the option selected (e.g. GSFA Platinum Select offers up to 3.5% as a repayable second plus up to 1.5% as gift funds).

Assistance type
Repayable second mortgage and/or gift funds (varies by option)
Potential amount
Up to 5.5% combined (e.g. up to 3.5% repayable second + up to 1.5% gift funds under Platinum Select)
Income / AMI limit
GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county for conventional loans — the program page does not state the specific dollar figures.
First-time buyer required
No
~$190K research signal
Needs verification

GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county but not the specific dollar figures on this page — cannot classify a ~$190K scenario without the county-specific number.

Verified August 28, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

View official program →

WISH (Workforce Initiative Subsidy for Homeownership)

Federal Home Loan Bank of San Francisco (disbursed through participating member financial institutions)

Open

2026 program cycle is funded at $13 million; member institutions can submit participation requests through the Community Investment Portal through 2027-03-12 — confirm the exact current window with a participating lender, as FHLBank cycle dates can shift.

A 4-to-1 matching grant for lower-income first-time homebuyers: a household that contributes its own funds can receive a matching grant up to $32,837 (amount set by the Federal Housing Finance Agency). Grant is secured by a second deed of trust that amortizes over a retention period and is forgiven if the buyer maintains owner-occupancy through it.

Assistance type
Forgivable matching grant (second deed of trust)
Potential amount
Up to $32,837, as a 4:1 match of the buyer's own contribution
Income / AMI limit
Tied to 80% of HUD AMI for the applicable area/household size — not a single statewide dollar figure; varies by county and household size.
First-time buyer required
Yes
~$190K research signal
Likely above income limit

Capped at 80% of HUD AMI. Even the highest 80% AMI figure in this table's own household-size range (Alameda County, 6-person household) is $157,500 — a ~$190K household income exceeds the 80% AMI ceiling at every household size.

Verified September 1, 2026

FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.

View official program →

Next steps

What to do next

  1. 01

    Join the BMP interest list

    Hello Housing administers the interest list for future BMP openings — the most recent confirmed example (a Corvin Drive townhome) had its pre-application period close March 10, 2026.

  2. 02

    Line up your homebuyer education class early

    The program requires an 8-hour, in-person, HUD-certified class through Project Sentinel — completing it before a home opens up means you can apply immediately instead of scrambling.

  3. 03

    Confirm your 180-day residency status

    BMP requires 6 full months of Santa Clara rental residency immediately before applying — if you don't currently live in Santa Clara, this is worth checking early.

  4. 04

    Check Santa Clara County programs in parallel

    Home Access Program is currently open (80% AMI); HELP and Empower Homebuyers SCC are both currently closed but worth watching for reopening.

FAQ

Santa Clara first-time homebuyer program questions

Direct answers to the questions buyers search before applying in Santa Clara.

Connect to True Cost

Found a program you may qualify for?

Calculate the home's actual monthly cost and cash needs first, then verify with the program administrator how assistance affects your financing.

Calculate True Cost

This page is a research aid, not a guarantee of eligibility or funding availability. FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee any government program — always confirm current details directly with the official source before relying on them.

Sources

Provenance for the claims on this page

Official administrator

Hello Housing — Santa Clara Below Market Rate

Supports: Program structure, administrator, since-1995 operating history. Accessed Aug 31, 2026.

Government (city)

City of Santa Clara — 2026 Area Median Income table

Supports: 120% AMI income limits by household size. Accessed Aug 31, 2026.

Local news

KRON4 — "9 affordable homes are coming soon to Santa Clara"

Supports: Real recent BMP listing example and pre-application window (returned HTTP 403 to direct automated re-fetch this pass; cited for the reader to verify). Accessed Aug 31, 2026.