Loans & Assistance
First-Time Home Buyer Programs in the Bay Area: what is open, closed, and worth verifying
A verified directory for first time home buyer programs bay area buyers can check before choosing a lender: city, county, and California down payment assistance, closing cost help, and below-market ownership programs, each linked to its official source and verification date.
We never fabricate program details. If a program isn't yet verified, it's labeled "Unverified" instead of guessed at. Buying in a specific city? The city guides walk through what applies to Newark, Fremont, San José, and Santa Clara specifically.
Search intent
Start with the programs that are real, then compare the loan
Most first-time Bay Area buyers search for assistance before they compare lenders. Use this page to separate real, source-linked program options from stale summaries, then use lender quotes to test how each program affects your payment, fees, and closing timeline.
Bay Area program fit
Search city, county, and statewide programs before assuming your income or target city rules you out.
Down payment assistance bay area
Separate grants, deferred loans, below-market homes, and closing cost help — they do not behave the same way.
Lender compatibility
Some lenders move faster with assistance programs than others. Compare program experience, fees, points, and preapproval speed.
Filters
Narrow it down
The ~$190K signal is a research aid, not an eligibility calculator — it reflects whether a household earning around $190K is worth investigating for that specific program, never a guarantee. This directory is organized around the way buyers search: first time home buyer programs bay area, down payment assistance bay area, then city-specific program fit.
Results
9 programs
AC Boost
Alameda County Housing and Community Development Department (managed by Hello Housing)
Pre-application period closed May 15, 2024; a Funding Cycle 3 lottery was held June 5, 2024. The official page shows no newer round as of verification — current status could reflect a paused, fully-subscribed, or between-cycles program; check the official page directly.
A shared-appreciation down payment assistance loan of up to $210,000 for households at or below 100% AMI, or up to $160,000 for households at or below 120% AMI. No payments due during the loan term.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation loan
- Potential amount
- Up to $210,000 (household income ≤100% AMI) or up to $160,000 (≤120% AMI) — shared-appreciation loan
- Income / AMI limit
- Assistance amount scales with income: up to $210,000 at or below 100% AMI, or up to $160,000 at or below 120% AMI. AMI dollar limits are updated annually (typically late spring) and are not listed on the general program page — check the official eligibility checker for current figures.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Depends on household size
Assistance tier depends on being at/below 100% or 120% Alameda County AMI. Alameda County's 2026 120% AMI figure for a 4-person household is approximately $186,850 (per a secondary source citing the county's own AMI table; not independently re-confirmed against the primary table this pass) — a ~$190K income is right at or just above that figure for a 4-person household, and the ratio would differ for other household sizes.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
CalHFA MyHome Assistance Program
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
This is a standing, non-lottery assistance program tied to CalHFA first mortgages — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator the way lottery-based programs do. The mechanics below were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A deferred-payment junior loan of up to 3.5% of the purchase price or appraised value (whichever is less) for government loans (FHA), or up to 3% for conventional loans, paired with a CalHFA first mortgage. No monthly payments — repaid when the home is sold, refinanced, or the first mortgage is paid off.
- Assistance type
- Deferred-payment junior loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 3.5% of purchase price/appraised value (FHA) or up to 3% (conventional) — deferred loan
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size, unlike typical AMI tables) — see the official income limits page/PDF. For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026, grouped with other 'high-cost county' limits (Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo). Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. Other counties have different, sometimes much lower, limits; this signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
California Dream For All Shared Appreciation Loan
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
The 2026 registration period for a down payment loan voucher closed March 16, 2026; vouchers from the randomized drawing were released May 20, 2026 to selected applicants (categorized Not Selected / Waitlist / Voucher Issued). No new registration round shown on the official page as of verification — monitor the official page for the next round.
Offers up to 20% of the purchase price for down payment or closing costs (not to exceed $150,000), as a shared-appreciation loan alongside a CalHFA first mortgage. At repayment, the borrower repays the original loan plus a share of the home's appreciation — 20% of appreciation for moderate-income borrowers, or a reduced 15% share (using a 0.75:1 formula) for borrowers at or below 80% AMI.
- Assistance type
- Shared-appreciation loan
- Potential amount
- Up to 20% of purchase price, not to exceed $150,000 — shared-appreciation loan
- Income / AMI limit
- Combined household income must meet CalHFA's published income limits for the county of purchase — the program page does not state the specific figures.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
CalHFA does not publish a specific dollar income limit on this page — only that county income limits apply — and the program shows no open 2026 round to check against currently.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
CalPLUS with ZIP (Zero Interest Program)
California Housing Finance Agency (CalHFA)
Like MyHome, this is a standing, non-lottery program tied to a specific CalHFA first mortgage (CalPLUS) — it does not display an explicit open/closed indicator. Mechanics were verified directly from the official page; check with a CalHFA-approved lender for current availability.
A zero-interest second loan equal to 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount, usable only for closing costs — not down payment or debt payoff. No payments while owned; deferred for the life of the CalPLUS first mortgage.
- Assistance type
- Zero-interest deferred loan (closing costs only)
- Potential amount
- 2% or 3% of the CalPLUS first mortgage amount — zero-interest, closing costs only
- Income / AMI limit
- CalHFA sets one flat income limit per county (not adjusted by household size). For Santa Clara County specifically, the 2026 Government/Conventional limit is $325,000, effective 6/30/2026 — CalPLUS ZIP shares CalHFA's standard income-limit table with MyHome. Limits vary significantly by county — this figure does not apply statewide.
- First-time buyer required
- Not stated
- ~$190K research signal
- Potentially relevant
For Santa Clara County specifically, CalHFA's 2026 flat income limit is $325,000 — a ~$190K income is comfortably under this ceiling. This signal reflects Santa Clara County only.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
GSFA Golden Opportunities Program
Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)
Official page presents the program as currently active, with application instructions and no suspension/closure notice.
Up to 5% of the first mortgage amount toward down payment and closing costs, for buyers using FHA, VA, USDA, or Conventional financing. Structured as a 3.5% second mortgage (15-year amortizing, monthly payments) plus up to 1.5% in non-repayable gift funds.
- Assistance type
- Amortizing second mortgage + gift funds
- Potential amount
- Up to 5% of first mortgage amount (3.5% amortizing second mortgage + up to 1.5% non-repayable gift)
- Income / AMI limit
- Not stated on the official page fetched this pass.
- First-time buyer required
- No
- ~$190K research signal
- No explicit income limit found
No income limit is stated on the official Golden Opportunities page — eligibility is driven by the underlying FHA/VA/USDA/Conventional loan program's own limits, not a GSFA-specific income cap.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
GSFA Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) Program
Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)
The official page states "All Program funds are currently allocated," updated January 1, 2025 — not accepting new applications as of verification.
Not a direct-assistance loan or grant — a federal tax credit equal to 20% of annual mortgage interest paid, claimable for the life of the loan while the home remains the borrower's primary residence. The remaining 80% of mortgage interest is still separately deductible.
- Assistance type
- Tax credit
- Potential amount
- 20% of annual mortgage interest paid, as a federal tax credit — not a lump sum
- Income / AMI limit
- Not stated on the official page.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
No income limit figure is stated on the official page, and the program shows no funds currently available to check eligibility against.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
GSFA Platinum
Golden State Finance Authority (GSFA)
Promotion explicitly stated as extended through August 2026 on the official page.
Combination down payment/closing-cost assistance of up to 5.5% of the loan amount, structured as a repayable second mortgage and/or gift funds depending on the option selected (e.g. GSFA Platinum Select offers up to 3.5% as a repayable second plus up to 1.5% as gift funds).
- Assistance type
- Repayable second mortgage and/or gift funds (varies by option)
- Potential amount
- Up to 5.5% combined (e.g. up to 3.5% repayable second + up to 1.5% gift funds under Platinum Select)
- Income / AMI limit
- GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county for conventional loans — the program page does not state the specific dollar figures.
- First-time buyer required
- No
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
GSFA publishes low-to-moderate income limits by county but not the specific dollar figures on this page — cannot classify a ~$190K scenario without the county-specific number.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Hayward Below Market Rate (BMR) Ownership Program
City of Hayward Housing Division
No closure or waitlist notation on the official page as of verification. Availability depends on which BMR-restricted developments currently have units for sale — this is not a standing pool of funds, it's deed-restricted unit inventory.
Deed-restricted below-market-rate ownership units required by the city's Affordable Housing Ordinance in new subdivisions and infill developments (including SoHay). Buyers purchase at a restricted price rather than receiving a cash subsidy; resale price stays restricted by covenant.
- Assistance type
- Deed-restricted below-market-rate purchase
- Potential amount
- Restricted purchase price on a deed-restricted unit, not a cash loan or grant — savings vary by development and unit
- Income / AMI limit
- Most units are restricted to moderate-income households, with some restricted to lower-income households — the official page does not state a single dollar figure; income limits are unit/development-specific.
- First-time buyer required
- Not stated
- ~$190K research signal
- Needs verification
The official page states income limits are unit-specific (moderate- or lower-income restricted) without a single stated figure — cannot classify a ~$190K household against this without the per-development income limit.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
WISH (Workforce Initiative Subsidy for Homeownership)
Federal Home Loan Bank of San Francisco (disbursed through participating member financial institutions)
2026 program cycle is funded at $13 million; member institutions can submit participation requests through the Community Investment Portal through 2027-03-12 — confirm the exact current window with a participating lender, as FHLBank cycle dates can shift.
A 4-to-1 matching grant for lower-income first-time homebuyers: a household that contributes its own funds can receive a matching grant up to $32,837 (amount set by the Federal Housing Finance Agency). Grant is secured by a second deed of trust that amortizes over a retention period and is forgiven if the buyer maintains owner-occupancy through it.
- Assistance type
- Forgivable matching grant (second deed of trust)
- Potential amount
- Up to $32,837, as a 4:1 match of the buyer's own contribution
- Income / AMI limit
- Tied to 80% of HUD AMI for the applicable area/household size — not a single statewide dollar figure; varies by county and household size.
- First-time buyer required
- Yes
- ~$190K research signal
- Likely above income limit
Capped at 80% of HUD AMI. Even the highest 80% AMI figure in this table's own household-size range (Alameda County, 6-person household) is $157,500 — a ~$190K household income exceeds the 80% AMI ceiling at every household size.
FirstHomeBayArea does not administer or guarantee eligibility for any government program — always confirm directly with the official source.
Notify Me About First-Home Opportunities
Tell us where and what you're looking for — we'll email you when a matching program or deadline opens. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.